Happy 2013! I’ve been horribly neglectful of this blog through a series of circumstances, laziness, and a lack of new books to read. But a new year equals a new reading challenge and equals new posts! I got a new job in Maryland and left the beautiful, warm, beachy Charleston for Maryland -__- My new job frowns on me updating my blog at work, which is why there have been a curious lack of posts since October. My creative juices flow best at work, what can I say? Also, my computer at home is a piece of shit that I just need to dump at the Apple store to wipe everything clean off of the hard drive and start over.

For those of you who don’t know, for the last 3 years, I have issued myself a reading challenge. I challenge myself to read 50 books in the course of the year. I started a blog because I thought it would keep me honest while allowing me to write on a more consistent basis. The rules:

  1. Books have to be new books (not new in the sense they are new releases, but new to me). I am a notorious re-reader which screws with my count
  2. All books must be completed by December 31, 2013
  3. For the book to count, there must be a blog post associated with it

The problem? I don’t know what to read! I’m looking for recommendations/suggestions or questions. I like literary fiction (please don’t suggest I read anything along the lines of Fifty Shades of Gray), fantasy, epics (Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones), and humor. Actually, I like almost anything except Fifty Shades of Gray and Twilight. I like my literature to have gone through some sort of editing process, sorry I’m not sorry.

So here’s to a 50 book 2013! Maybe this is the year I’ll actually finish this challenge! ..Maybe. At least I didn’t give up fried foods or bread or other ridiculous things like a few people I saw on Facebook.

Proof you can find anything on google. "Deep fried books." I accidentally typed deep fried boobs. Not safe for work.

Proof you can find anything on google. “Deep fried books.” I accidentally typed deep fried boobs at first. Not safe for work.

 

