In A Nutshell

  • Genre: Paranormal, Action, Romance, Historical-Fiction and Contemporary
  • Notes: Made me see much more into the Mencheres character who, when I realized this book was about him, I was skeptical to see if he could be a good romantic hero.
  • Recommended For: Fans of Frost and the Night Huntress Series, Fans of Twilight, Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and fans of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

I know what you’re thinking, “Another great cover for the Nighthuntress World series!” . . . It’s once again an interesting choice. But I have to atleast commend them on making it look like a physically imaginable pose. Although the guy on the cover makes me think of the actor that plays Jasper in The Twilight Movies.

Am I right? Anyway, that isn’t how I pictured Mencheres at all, but you know, whatever. Let’s get to the premise, shall we?

SYNOPSIS

An immortal war has been brewing in the darkness . . .

And now one woman has stumbled into the shadows.

Chicago private investigator Kira Graceling should have just kept on walking. But her sense of duty refused to let her ignore the moans of pain coming from inside a warehouse just before dawn. Suddenly she finds herself in a world she’s only imagined in her worst nightmares.

At the center is Mencheres, a breathtaking Master vampire who thought he’d seen it all. Then Kira appears—this fearless, beautiful . . . human who braved death to rescue him. Though he burns for her, keeping Kira in his world means risking her life. Yet sending her away is unthinkable.

But with danger closing in, Mencheres must choose either the woman he craves, or embracing the darkest magic to defeat an enemy bent on his eternal destruction.

So when I first read the two spin-off of the Night Huntress Novels, I found this one to be my favorite of the two, but after more re-readings I find I like them an equal amount. I think the reason I found this one more attractive in the beginning was because it fits in more generically with my every-day romance novels. Not that it doesn’t include the wonderful world of Cat and Bones, but the characters remind me very much of my romance novel run-of-the-mill hero and heroine. That’s not a bad thing, in my opinion, I like the comfort in that. I mean, why would I read all these if I didn’t find the norm of this genre to be exciting?

Kira’s a good character if a little predictable, but she’s got some spunk and doesn’t let Mencheres push her around. And I liked her back-story concerning her not-so-great drug-addict brother and her little sister who’s sick that she calls “Tiny-T”. I found that as her back story was revealed the character grew – no surprise there. But it would be hard to compete with the plotline of Mencheres, a centuries old vampire who became a vampire in Ancient Egypt.

I have to say I completely geeked out over the Ancient Egyptian references. As a Art History minor I loved learning about Ancient Egyptian artwork and culture. I also like Frost’s explanation of the acceptance of Vampire’s in ancient egypt and how their existence relates to the building of the pyramids. All very interesting.

This book like The First Drop of Crimson are in their own category from the rest of the Cat & Bones novels as they feature the inner musings of the male lead. Something that, as I mentioned in my last review, we never get from Bones. It was very interesting to finally see behing Mencheres’ stoic expressions and learn more about his past. That’s another reason I really recommend these spin-offs to the fans of the Night Huntress Series, as I feel we can appreciate the entire plot lines more and it helps to enrich our experience of the Cat/Bone-centric books.

Something that stuck out to me in this, that I didn’t truly acknowledge until I read it this time, was a pattern that I begin to find a little redundant in Frost’s writings. Most especially in tFDoC and this book: the two leads really bond over a significant life event that is entirely relatable and has to do with a past significant other. To translate, *SPOILERS* When Spade and Denise bond over the fact that their significant others died horrible deaths that they weren’t able to prevent because of a miscommunication, and in this we learn that Kira can really relate to Patra, Mencheres first wife, and that relationship. *SPOILERS OVER* I’m not saying that couples shouldn’t be able to relate to eachother from past experiences. I’m saying it becomes a little too predictable when it’s always such a similar event that is relatable. It’s almost too much of a coincidence. I prefer the fact that Bones and Cat really relate to eachother because while they are completely different, they relate to eachother by similar feelings and their understanding of doing what needs to be done for the greater good even if it’s not always the good way to go about it.

That actually leads me to my favorite aspect about Kira. Kira is one of those people who tries always to do good. She knows she won’t all the time, but she goes out of her way to do what is just and right. Her modo being Save one life. This entire thread throughout the novel made her more dynamic.

One thing that made me chuckle early on in the book is the fact that Kira has a natural aversion to Vampire influence. She can’t be mind-controlled and as a direct effect, Mencheres can’t read her mind. The moment I read that I was like, “Oh hel-lo Edward Cullen.” That plot technique has clearly already been used, but I don’t blame Frost. This whole book could have been written in 5 chapters if Mencheres could read her mind. So while you also may notice this similarity. If it turns you off, just keep reading it’s still a good book.

Why is it a good book? Well the action in it is actually pretty exciting. Mencheres is warring with his evil Uncle who is out to steal his great power, but Mencheres is a pretty decent BAMF and won’t go out without a fight. Once again in this book, Frost continues exposition by introducing us more thoroughly to the Guardians. The Judges and Executioners of Vampire laws. She delves somewhat into the character of Veritas, who almost kills Cat in a previous novel and we learn that this is not the last we will hear of the Guardians.

It may arguably be Frost’s best talent as a writer to wield the pen so easily between multiple books’ plots as well as characters old and new while introducing new concepts and settings. If you’ve enjoyed the other books so far, what are you waiting for on this one?

★★★★

Advertisements