In A Nutshell

  • Genre: Paranormal Romance, Action, Gore, Adventure, Fiction.
  • Notes: I love the plots in this but it feels a little like 2 books in one.
  • Recommended For:Fans of The Night Huntress Novels and Frost, People who loved Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Fans of The Sookie Stackhouse Novels.

Cat and Bones are back and they are going after everyone who’s come after them and again . . .You can’t go into this book thinking that you’re going to read a slow paced and emotion-centric novel. There’s plenty of emotion, but it goes quickly. I don’t want to give any spoilers away so here’s the synopsis.

SYNOPSIS
Some things won’t stay buried . . . at grave’s end

It should be the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield’s life. With her undead lover Bones at her side, she’s successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead. But though Cat’s worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secret from the brazen bloodsuckers, her cover’s finally been blown, placing her in terrible danger.

As if that wasn’t enough, a woman from Bones’s past is determined to bury him once and for all. Caught in the crosshairs of a vengeful vamp, yet determined to help Bones stop a lethal magic from being unleashed, Cat’s about to learn the true meaning of bad blood. And the tricks she’s learned as a special agent won’t help her. She will need to fully embrace her vampire instincts in order to save herself—and Bones—from a fate worse than the grave.

What I will say is that I really like this book. It’s full of action, the characters are true-to-form, the plot makes sense, and it keeps the books themes moving. It is honestly everything you want out of a Night Huntress Novel, and in that way it is extremely successful. That’s not to say I’m not critical about any of it.

There’s a major plot line that is introduced from the first moment and when that comes to a head it’s rather abrupt and unexpected. Not that I like long and drawn out, but I felt like after the first plot line is concluded (in a manner of speaking) I felt like I’d finished the book, but there were still like 200 pages left. Then it leads into a completely new plot line and, if you’ll excuse the BTVS reference, an even bigger baddie.

Amidst all this adventure, Frost is able not only to continue Cat & Bones relationship, but to investigate and revel in the inner workings that are a struggle for any normal couple: trust, honesty, having a past, etc. That was a huge plus for this book. It’s really rare to find a novelist who can continue working her characters while maintaining a steady, strong, and detailed plot line.

As for supporting characters, Frost does an excellent job of giving us insight into Bones relationship with his comrades Ian and Charles as well as his grandsire, Mencheres. This all comes in handy later when/if you read the 2 spin-off novels involving Charles (First Drop of Crimson) and Mencheres (Eternal Kiss of Darkness.)

This book embellishes the angst in the series and as I’m usually a fan of angst in my RomNovs, I really liked that part. The only issue was, there is a certain, defining, event that takes place and as a result Cat makes a choice. Which is then never discussed between Cat & Bones again. I don’t mean to confuse those of you who haven’t read this book, but this applies to you as well. It wasn’t until much later that I found, on Jeaniene Frost’s website, deleted scenes from this novel and this particular scene I think should have been included. Edited, but included. If when you read you want to see what I mean, she suggests reading it at the end of Chapter 25. If you have trouble opening that go to her page here and go to the ninth link down.

I enjoy this book a lot. I think it’s a great addition to the series, if a little rushed in the beginning and ends, but it gives way more than that takes away. You really should check out the series if you love vampires and romance and kick-ass heroines and supernatural fun.

★★★★

Advertisements