In A Nutshell

  • Genre: Paranormal Romance, Action, and Contemporary Romance
  • Notes: If you haven’t read the previous books you’ll be lost on a lot of the plot references.
  • Recommended for: BDB fans and fans of Paranormal Rom w/ Plot

A McHottie with a Bite . . . I didn’t find out about this series in a traditional way. Actually I was in Berlin talking to one of my favorite people, John, and he asked me why I carry books with me everywhere. When I told him I always love to read he asked me what kind of books and my deep love of Rom Books came up. He asked me what I just read and at the time it was Eclipse. It turns out John had read it too. When we discussed it’s hugely puritanical overtones we had a bit of a laugh and then he said:

J: Have you read J.R. Ward’s Black Dager Brotherhood Series?

Me: Huh? No. I’ve never heard of it.

J: Oh darling, There’s something that will curl your toes.

That, to this day, is the perfect recommendation for this series.

If you haven’t read this series ever and you like Paranormal Romance. Stop reading this and go out and grab Dark Lover by JR Ward.

As for this book it was pretty good, but there were points of it that either dragged for me or set me up to be more interested in characters other than Payne and Manny. In comparison to some other books in the series – I found this one slightly lacking.

The B&N summary is as follows:

Payne, twin sister of Vishous, is cut from the same dark, seductive cloth as her brother. Imprisoned for eons by their mother, the Scribe Virgin, she finally frees herself-only to face a devastating injury. Manuel Manello, M.D., is drafted by the Brotherhood to save her as only he can-but when the human surgeon and the vampire warrior meet, their two worlds collide in the face of their undeniable passion. With so much working against them, can love prove stronger than the birthright and the biology that separates them?

I knew we were bringing back Manny because of the Vishous/Jane novel, and I was looking forward to it. The Payne/Manny story is great, but not anything too different than we’ve read  in the previous novels. My biggest problem while reading it was when *SPOILER ALERT* Vishous and Jane had a huge fight – I was way more into reading about them than P/M.

Another critique I have is that the over arching enemy plot line ends rather abruptly. And while the product of that encounter is intriguing it seemed to me to be a lot of build up for a lot of exposition.

This book makes it clear that she’s building up to some big conflict with the King. This would be a super boring book for people who are not familiar with the other story lines. For those who are it would be a pleasant addition – but nothing earth-shattering.

One thing I loved about this book, was how Payne is a warrior – the first female – possible addition to the BDB. That would be too cool.

In the end – and in comparison to others in the series I give this 3 1/2 Stars.

★★★1/2

